SWALLOW SCHOOL DISTRICT

W299 N5614 County Road E Hartland, Wisconsin 53029

SPECIAL SCHOOL BOARD MEETING

February 8, 2019

7:00 a.m.

Present: John Stahl, Susie Polentini, Darin Clark, Aaron Dentz, Melissa Thompson, Kyle Moore, Jeremy Struss, and Andrew Joseph. Peggy Moede arrived at 7:05.

Excused: Darin Clark

Also in attendance: Lori Alvarez, Charlie Smith, Diane Olenchek, Shelly Wertschnig, deVries family, Schoeppel family, Thomas family, Brenny family, Coronado family, Marino family, Fletcher family, Kang family, Katta family, Lantz family, Mayhew family, Pies family, Rahman family, Polentini family, Reinders family, Schoeppel family, Sikorski family, Barrie family, Beg family, Domenico family, Holland family, Landwoski family, Rigel family, Swinehart family.

CALL TO ORDER

John Stahl called the meeting to order at 7:01 a.m., read the Notice of the Meeting, and led those in attendance in the Pledge of Allegiance.

Aaron Dentz moved to approve the agenda. Susie Polentini seconded and the motion carried 3-0 on a voice vote.

CITIZENS' FORUM

No comments were made.

CELEBRATIONS AND COMMENDATIONS

Nicole Huggett, Peggy Moede, Annie DiPietro, Kate Garman, Andrew Joseph, and Krissy Perugini were presented with a certificate of recognition for their hard work on making Literacy Night a huge success.

Also commended were the following Middle School students for achieving High Honors and Honors for the First Semester of 2018-2019:

7th Grade

High Honors: Thayer Bruss, Katherine Cornell, Nora Fawley, Molly Fletcher, Grant French, Sophie Ignatowski, Mina Kang, Shriya Katta, Blake Kayzar, Walker Lantz, Alexander Mackay, Madeline Mayhew, Natalie Pies, Joseph Polentini, Yamna Rahman, Shayne Reinders, Katherine Schoeppel, William Sikorski, Danielle Stemper, and Ava Tassone.

Honors: Seth Adamson, Anne Babler, Ella Barrie, Bennett Basich, Hamza Beg, Brody Dentz, Isabella Domenico, Claire Gryglas, Luke Heberlein, Philip Holland, Ellie Kadrich, Lindsey Landowski, Delaney Logan, Oliver McSorley, Dean Morrison, Tyler Pauley, Charles Perri, Samantha Pope, Nathan Reimer, Amelia Rigel, Teagan Safranek, Paige Schleicher, Kyle Swinehart, Issei Takahashi, Payton Teel, Georgia Tilmont, William Turner, Caden Viehe, Gabrielle Wold, and Owen Young.

8th Grade:

High Honors: Sofia Bakalars, Andrew Barthel, Katherine Buerger, Abigail Craven, Mariella deVries, Elli DiDonato, Sophia Gimla, Justin Heimsch, Lily Heinrich, Allison Jackson, Emmett Jones, Alayna Judd, Audriana Kaiser, Noah Krause, Hannah Krogwold, Ryan Patterson, Maxwell Rebella, Isabelle Schneider, Mark Schoeppel, Parnia Serjooei, Siya Sinha, Campbell Stoll, Aine Thomas, Sierra Thomas, and Matthew Vayts.

Honors:

Aiden Adapathya, Nicolas Bratz, Kali Brenny, Brayson Brown, Ejigayehu Case, Shega Case, Camila Coronado, Marijke deVries, Jesse Ellis, Dynali Forge, Asher Harder, Cole Horkan, Annika Hornsby, Addison Koper, Alex Kramer, Jack Lauterbach, Annella MacLean, Isabella Marino, Garrett Monis, Shawn Oosterbaan, Grace Paul, Eleanor Siepmann, Michael Stadler, Lily Wakefield, Michael Walsh, David Weatherbee, Nolan Wilde, and Vera Zamborini.

INFORMATIONAL ITEMS

Superintendent's Report

Dr. Thompson presented the following information:

Science and Engineering Curriculum and Programmatic Review Update – Lori Alvarez, Charlie Smith, Diane Olenchek, Shelly Wertschnig and Andrew Joseph presented an update on the Science and Engineering curricular area, which is in its first year of implementation for science/engineering in all grades.

Preview of Design, Bidding Process, and Overall Schedule for Referendum Projects –Representatives from C.G. Schmidt and PRA presented a preview of the design of the exterior of the building, discussed the bidding timeline and process, and reviewed the overall schedule for referendum projects.

ACTION ITEMS

The Board reviewed and took action on the following items:

Policy

First Reading of New Board Policy Manual Containing Sections 2000, 3000, 4000 to Replace Current Board Policy Manual

ADJOURNMENT

At 8:44 a.m. Susie Polentini made the motion to adjourn which was seconded by Peggy Moede and carried 4-0 on a voice vote.

carried to on a voice vote.	
Respectfully submitted,	
Melissa Thompson	
Superintendent	
Approved:	
	, President
	_, Clerk